Tags

, ,

A second post, to make up for my extended media silence. At least I have been consistent in my absence from here: for a sustained period, work in all its forms has got in the way of my baking, so on my holidays a couple of weeks ago I returned to it with a vengeance, and made:

The Suffragette Battenberg parcel – to make when you have lots of food colouring but no loaf tins to hand

IMAG0179 This was my mother’s birthday cake this year, and therefore also features her present – a Radical Tea Towel Company Suffragette tea cosy.

The green cake was coloured with pistachios, aided by green food colouring. The purple involved creative mixing of blue and red food colouring. They are stuck together using home-made elderberry jelly, and the text showcases once again my reluctance to acknowledge that a teaspoon is not a valid instrument of calligraphy.

 

IMAG0182Slightly less exciting: this year’s Easter cake

A chocolate sponge sandwich filled with home-made plum jam and crushed raspberries, topped with lemon buttercream and decorated with fresh fruit, chocolate Easter eggs and an ox-eye daisy from the garden.

 

 

